October 15 Pearl

October 15

I read these verses in Jeremiah that made me ponder the fact that The Lord may lead us into difficulty for our good, not for our harm.

The Lord had given Jeremiah a vision of good figs and bad figs and then he was explaining who the good figs represent.

I have sent them into captivity for their own good. I will see that they are well treated, and I will bring them back here again. I will build them up and not tear them down. I will plant them and not uproot them. I will give them hearts that will recognize me as the Lord. The will be my people, and I will be their God for they will return to me wholeheartedly. Jeremiah 24:6-7

These verses remind me of my many years of emotional struggle. Crying and praying and crying and praying, therapy and more therapy and shame from many people who would say, “Wilma your problem is you don’t want to get better, just think differently.”

Granted if we can change our thinking we can change our feelings. The problem with my situation was that my stinkin thinking was so deeply engrained it didn’t go away with one right thought. It took 7 long years of therapy and constant meditation.

Today was a reminder of how far I’ve come and how far my husband and I have come. My husband tore open boxes and put together furniture and lamps. I had no energy, I drug myself along and helped as much as I could, but I was out of emotional energy.

My husband has taken ownership and responsibility for our new house and its been a privilege to walk along side him as he is enjoying the journey. He opened a box of new cookware today and he was oohing and awwing like it was a beautiful piece of art.

I thought to myself, oh my I would never look at a piece of cookware and think wow that’s great. I look at cookware and see work. He looks at it and sees joy and a chance to be creative. I’m so very very grateful that he loves to cook!

My Pearl today is how far my husband has come as an individual and how we have grown as a couple. Its great to watch, learn and grow. Of course the fact that he is amazing chef is just icing on the cake!

Leave a Reply

