October 14 Pearl

October 14

Today I can’t help but reflect on what I was doing 20 years ago. I was in labor. I had contractions while I was shopping at Sams Club in Champaign, Illinois. I would push the cart and grab the cart and hold on tight while I was having a contraction. They were 5-10 minutes apart and hard.

I drove the 45 minutes home and held on to the steering wheel for dear life with each contraction. This was back in the day when there were no DVR’s. We had this tradition of watching Home Improvement every night at 5:30 pm. So we packed everything and sat down to watch Home Improvement before we took off for the hospital which was in Champaign, 45 minutes away.

I was so very excited to meet my baby. My first due date was September 30 and then it was October 7. He wasn’t born until October 15 at 2:55 AM.

I loved being pregnant, I was never alone! Everyone was so kind to me and said sorry if they bumped into me. I was working as a server at Yoders, I worked through September 30 and then walked every day trying to shake the baby out.

I had been told to take castor oil to induce labor. It didn’t work, but my bowels moved.

My doctor decided to start me on Pitocin to induce me around 10 PM. I remember thinking I was going to die. I saw the headlines in my mind..woman dies in labor. I remember it as if it was yesterday. I was positive I was dying. Funny how pain can play tricks on your mind.

I’ll never forget when he was born and how the pain went away completely! The transition from excruciating pain to none was exhilarating in and of itself and then seeing his precious face and red hair. The feeling was like something I had never experienced and have never experienced again.

The joy of holding my son in my arms was worth all the hours of labor when I thought I was going to die. I didn’t know what it meant to love someone until I held my son in my arms and the love I have for him grows each and every day. Having a child is like having your own heart out there walking around without you.

My Pearl today is my son will be 20 years old tomorrow. He has grown from 7 pounds 4 ounces, 21 inches long to being over 6 feet tall and probably around 160 pounds. I was so immature back then, I wish I knew then what I know now.

Leave a Reply

