June 19 Pearl

June 19

Freedom is the condition or state of not being mastered by anything..this was a quote from our pastor this weekend. There are many theories on what freedom is?

Braveheart is a popular movie where Mel Gibson says you may live, but will you really live because you will be enslaved? Wouldn’t you rather fight for life and die while fighting for life, then go home and just exist.

My theory on freedom in the short 42 plus years I’ve been on this earth is that freedom is the liberation from demanding what I want. It hardly ever happens that I get what I want.

In fact if I demand it and then don’t get it, there is more disappointment and dissatisfaction than if I surrender to The Lords will for my life.

Even Jesus, who was God, said, not my will but your will be done Father…on earth as it it is in heaven. Being enslaved to what I want is true bondage to be enslaved to what the Lord wants is liberation.

The reason for this is because what The Lord wants for me is always better than what I want for me. I think I know, but I don’t really. I see through a glass dimly and I only see what’s right in front of me not what is going to happen years down the road.

They say hindsight is 20/20..well The Lord has 20/20 vision so we can trust him and surrender to Him.

Whatever we feed will grow: if we feed the spirit we will be free. If we feed our sinful desires we become more and more enslaved.

My Pearl today is the liberation of being enslaved to Jesus.

Leave a Reply

