May 16 Pearl

May 16

I laughed when I read this verse: Jonah was furious. He lost his temper. He yelled at God, God! I knew it-when I was back home, I knew this was going to happen!

That’s why I ran off to Tarshish! I knew you were sheer grace and mercy, not easily angered, rich in love, and ready at the drop of a hat to turn your plans for punishment into a program of forgiveness!

So, God, if you won’t kill them, kill me! I’m better off dead! This was from the message version of Jonah 4: 1-3.

Jonah was mad because he thought the people deserved punishment, he didn’t want to see them repent and be saved. He wanted to see them tortured.

Have you ever felt like this? I’m sure we have, not sure if I would tell God what I was thinking. I would probably keep these selfish thoughts to myself. Nevertheless Jonah got it all out and he let God have it.

I remember times when I’ve been angry with God, as ridiculous as that sounds. I would express my heart and cry out to Him. I felt He would draw closer to me when I would get angry.

Like my child, I want to know exactly what he is feeling if he is sad, mad or glad. The Lord is the same, he already knows what we are feeling, but he wants to hear it from us. He wants us to share our hearts with Him.

My Pearl today is the relief and freedom that comes from being honest with our Lord.

Leave a Reply

