April 1 Pearl

April 1

Jesus said to the people who believed in him, “You are truly my disciples if you remain faithful to my teachings.”

We are starting a new discipline to study scripture. Using the words SOAP, we take a scripture like the one above and write out the verse and what we observe, how it applies and what the prayer is from the verse.

Today’s verse is the one above, John 8:31. What I observe from this verse is that to be a disciple you have to be faithful to His teachings.

He was talking to believers, so I could conclude that a person can be a believer without being a disciple? I can believe in Jesus and that he came to save me, but I don’t have to follow His teachings.

How do I apply this to my life? I need to ask myself, if I’m just a believer or do I want to follow His teachings and therefore be a disciple? If I want to be Jesus hands and feet and show His love to others, I have to do more than just believe.

I want to take it to the next level and follow His teachings on how he lived and loved others.

My prayer would be, Lord help me be more than just a believer. I want to make you proud to be my Father.

My Pearl today is the depth of His love found in scripture. I’m not alone in trying to please Him. He will give me the strength I need through His spirit.

Leave a Reply

