January 19 Pearl

January 19

Have you ever wanted to let others know YOU were right in a situation? I told you so! Has that ever escaped your lips? Or at least you had a satisfied look on your face and a certain gleam in your eye when you came across that person again..Making the other person feel they need to say. Ok, Okay you were right.

I think even letting the thought cross your mind and not saying it, is less than Christlike. If I was right, why would I want to rub it in? Oh, its called pride I think?

I’m trying to live a life where if I am right about a situation I don’t even let the I told you so thoughts reside in my mind. I don’t click on the link.

I take that back, there is one person that I’ve been very satisfied that I was right and they were wrong. No, I won’t reveal who that person happens to be.

Either way it takes a lot of energy to prove to others that you are right and you are valuable etc. All those positive vibes we want to get from others. Its just not worth the energy.

Sometime I wish I was wrong! Like my shoulder. I knew from about four weeks post-op that the surgery had not been successful. I knew it because the kind of pain I was having. I explained that to the surgeon and wanted to get on with the replacement.

I feel like I’ve just sat here with knowledge of what I need, but couldn’t get it. The surgeon felt at 6 weeks it was to early to call the surgery a failure. He still had hope. I had none.

I told him that I did not think he was right, but I hoped he was. He agreed that he hoped he was right too, but knew that I was probably right. He just couldn’t ethically give up so soon on the first surgery.

So its times like this when we want to be wrong. The same is true when our loved ones are lying to us and we know it, but we don’t really want it to be true.

And now, just as you accepted Christ Jesus as your Lord, you must continue to follow him. Let your roots grow down into him, and let your lives be built on him. Then your faith will grow strong in the truth you were taught, and you will overflow with thankfulness. Colossians 2:6-7.

Letting our roots grow deep into the truth of who we are as the Lord’s child, allows us to stop trying to prove ourselves. Rest in Him, grow in your faith in Him and your actions will change revealing the fruit of His spirit. Joy, contentment and peace.

My Pearl today is the wisdom of Gods Word that leads to rest in Him. It reminds me of that old commercial Calgon take me away….

Leave a Reply

