January 9 Pearl

January 9

Today I started a new devotional plan to draw closer to the Lord. I’m giving up junk food for 21 days while reading this plan. Our pastor challenged us to this plan.

The question today was posed like this: What is your biggest obstacle to experiencing the zeal and passion described in Romans 12:11-12: Never be lazy, but work hard and serve the Lord enthusiastically. Rejoice in our confident hope. Be patient in trouble, and keep on praying.

That pretty much wraps up all areas of our lives. If we could live out these two verses we would be living a giving kind of life.

I started the morning out with listening to praise music and reading this devotional to get my mind in the right place. This is my plan for the next 21 days and hopefully I will form a habit and do it from now on. I’m told it takes 21 days to form a habit.

My answer to the question what is my biggest obstacle to experiencing God and letting him flow through my life? I would say its not that I don’t desire Him, its just that life gets in the way.

I can lose my focus quickly. The day fills up with thinking about everything but the Lord and before I know it, the day is over and I haven’t picked up my bible or talked to Him.

As it is in any relationship, I have to be intentional about spending time with him. Which is why getting up and spending time with him first will get me on the right path for the day.

My Pearl today is the joy of being intentional to spend time with the Lord and listen to Him and read His Word.

Leave a Reply

