December 30 Pearl

December 30

The year is almost over, yikes. I’ve got to make the most of it. Most businesses do inventory the last week of the year. So I figured its time for me to go through closets and do inventory. See what I have and what I really need? I have a lot of stuff that has no benefit.

I have a hard time getting rid of things. I found my notes from the first years of college classes I took back in 1994! Oh my goodness. The notes I took were funny. I had a quote on one of my math notebooks..it said..Don’t make a mountain out of a molehill!

I wonder what math and making a mountain out of a molehill had in common? I would imagine I was overthinking it and the instructor probably told me not to make a big thing out of nothing.

I also found all my notes from the Dale Carnegie course. In my public speaking class I did a speech about taking the Dale Carnegie course and what it meant to me.

I said that it taught me to be the best me I could be. I mentioned that I wanted to make a difference in people’s lives. My goals were to go to church, go back to school and be a waitress. I accomplished all of those goals within six months of finishing the course.

The Dale Carnegie Course gave me the confidence I needed to do what I wanted to do. I learned that life was what you make of it, not what happened to you. I enjoyed the speeches I had to give and I discovered it came naturally to me.

My Pearl today is the joy of de cluttering. It feels like a weight loss.

Leave a Reply

