December 18 Pearl

December 18

Today’s attribute for the Lord is Messiah. Matthew 16:16-20: Simon Peter answered, “You are the Messiah, the Son of the living God.” Jesus replied, “You are blessed, Simon son of John, because my Father in heaven has revealed this to you. You did not learn this from any human being.

Now I say to you that you are Peter (which means ‘rock’), and upon this rock I will build my church, and all the powers of hell will not conquer it. And I will give you the keys of the Kingdom of Heaven.

Whatever you forbid on earth will be forbidden in heaven, and whatever you permit on earth will be permitted in heaven.” Then he sternly warned the disciples not to tell anyone that he was the Messiah.

The secret of heaven was revealed to Peter. I would love to think that the Lord would confide in me as a friend. Give me wisdom to live by moment by moment. I guess if he did it for Peter; he could do it for me?

I don’t think I want the responsibility The Lord gave Peter. He was supposed to be the rock the entire church was built on. That’s a pretty big job! I’d be afraid that I’d screw it up.

Then he added whatever he forbid on earth would be forbidden in heaven and whatever you permit on earth will be permitted in heaven? Really? I can think of quite a few things I would forbid on earth! Sin! Cancer! Pain!

I’m sure there is a bigger picture here of course. Only the Lord can forbid sin and I guess some pain is necessary. But I would limit the amount of pain. However, I don’t have the power to take away pain. I know of at least two friends who are in a lot of pain right now.

My Pearl today is that we have a Savior, our Messiah. Who can overcome sin and Save us even while we remain in our painful circumstances.

Leave a Reply

