December 10 Pearl

December 10

My son came home from college for a bit last night and we put him to work taking our canopy down. I feel real old because as soon as he comes home we have things for him to do.

How will we ever make it without him. I thought that doesn’t start happening until we are 60 +. He is only 19 and yet we need him to do a lot of things to help us. Poor kid.

My husband and I were able to enjoy the K Love Christmas concert last night. I love Christmas songs and festivities.

Its easy to become consumed with shopping and the busy of Christmas and forgetting the real reason for Christmas. This was the reason that I started reading an attribute of God and its related scriptures for each day in December. We started this tradition a couple of years ago.

Today’s attribute is The Alpha & Omega, the related scriptures are Revelations 1:8, 21:6, 22:13.

Revelation 21:6: Jesus said, “It is finished! I am the Alpha and the Omega-the Beginning and the End. To all who are thirsty I will give freely from the springs of the water of life.

This is quite a statement. Everything starts with Jesus and ends with Him. Everything, nothing is excluded. He is also willing to gives us water if we are thirsty.

I drink about a gallon of water a day. Its not because I necessarily want to, I am simply thirsty. Its a known fact to all who know me that I am a water snob. I only drink reverse osmosis water and only out of a glass glass, not a plastic bottle.

So this analogy of being thirsty resonates with me. What I hear Jesus saying in this verse is that if we are thirsty for Him and His truth he will give it to us without reservation. We don’t have to beg for it or earn it. He simply offers it freely.

The problem is that we quench our thirst with other things like money, human relationships, power and earthly success. So we don’t realize that we are thirsting for the wrong things that will never quench our thirst. We keep doing the same thing day after day, never satisfied.

We must recognize what our thirst is and quench it with the right source. Otherwise, we will be like a bucket with a hole in it. Nothing will be enough to satisfy.

My Pearl today is that I have access to the one who can satisfy my thirst and He is willing to give me as much water as I want. What a relief. He quenches our deepest desires because he is the beginning and the end.

Leave a Reply

