December 1 Pearl

December 1

Hello December! Where did the other 11 months go?! I have been writing a pearl every day this year. That means I am almost to make it through a new years resolution I made to write every day. Amazing I kept one resolution, never mind the others.

This time every year we read about a name for God and scriptures related to that name. They are written on crosses made of construction paper with scripture on the cross. We read one every day in the month of December and then hang them on the tree.

This is the first year my son is not here to read them with us. I’m sending a picture of each cross to him via text message and hope he has time to read the scripture.

Today’s name for God is “Redeemer” the scriptures are: Job 19:25, Ps. 19:14, Is. 41:14.

Isaiah passage is interesting it says, “Though you are a lowly worm, O Jacob, don’t be afraid, people of Israel, for I will help you. I am the Lord, your Redeemer. I am the Holy One of Israel.”

He refers to Jacob as a lowly worm. Even though he refers to him this way, he says the Lord will help him and redeem him. This is hopeful. He can and is and will continue to redeem me, just a lowly worm.

Ps 19:14: May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing to you, O Lord, my rock and my redeemer. This is a beautiful prayer. Now if only I could live it out. I think of a couple thoughts and words I said today that may not have been pleasing to the Lord.

Job 19:25: But as for me, I know that my Redeemer lives, and he will stand upon the earth at last. What a beautiful promise. It reminds me of the hymn..I know whom I have believed and am persuaded that he is able to keep that which I’ve committed unto him against that day..love this hymn.

My Pearl today is that the Lord is my Redeemer. Behold he makes all things new, even me.

Leave a Reply

