April 24 Pearl

April 24

Today was an embarrassing and humbling day. I was on call last night, starting at midnight and I slept right through not just one call, but six calls. The first call I woke up for was at 5:30 this morning.

Now how can I find a Pearl in this situation? Well you will be shocked to find out that I found many pearls as the day wore on.

My first Pearl is that I am writing pearls and looking for the good in the bad. So as I began writing this Pearl, I checked my phone to see how many calls I missed. This is when I discovered I missed 6 calls.

This got me to thinking, how could I have missed 6 calls? I am not a deep sleeper, something isn’t right about this. Then bingo! I discovered what it was, I had my do not disturb on from 10 PM to 5 AM, which is why I heard the 5:30 call.

Had I not been writing my Pearl I would not have investigated and I would not have discovered this problem. So guess what would have happened? You guessed it, something worse would have happened. The next time I was on call the same thing would have happened and the embarrassment of that would just have been unbearable.

I do take pride in being a good employee so I was embarrassed by one time, but had it happened again without my realizing the problem, well I don’t even want to think about it.

The other Pearl is that I did some soul searching after this so called “failure.” It was really bothering me, of course. As I processed through the feelings I was reminded of something I learned years ago. If I get really upset when I fail, it might be because I think to highly of myself. Pride.

Of course I don’t want to fail or do anything wrong, but if I’m really hard on myself is it because I thought I was so good that I wouldn’t do anything wrong? When I start to think of it this way, I realize I am still very proud.

So I went through that humbling process today, which was a good Pearl reminder.

I discovered the problem and so chances are it won’t happen again. It could have been a lot worse. The phone calls could have been emergent and no one else could have been available, but instead someone was available and it was non-emergent.

It was a roller coaster of a day. Including I did get a call at 7:15 AM and had to make a trek to Anderson, 51 miles away for a visit, even though my shift was over at 8:00 AM.

Through it all, I found many pearls and I’m grateful that the Lord is close to me and revealed my phone problem and revealed my heart. You gotta love Him, that Jesus!

Leave a comment