February 24 Pearl

February 24

In Exodus Moses would go into a tent and a cloud representing God’s presence would cover the entrance to the tent. Everyone else knew that Moses was meeting with God by the presence of the cloud so they would all stand at their tents and worship.

I am picturing this. Did they lift their hands and sing Glory Glory Hallelujah he threw my shackles in the sea. No wait they didn’t know Jesus yet so they probably didn’t sing that one. Maybe they sang Oh God you are my God and I will ever praise you, I will seek you in the morning and I will learn to walk in your ways, step by step you lead me and I will follow you all of my days.

Here is what gets me. The Lord would speak to Moses face to face as to a friend. Wow. I would love to be seen as God’s friend. How many times have I said, I wish the Lord would just tell me what he wants me to do, send me a fax or an email.

One of the things Moses prays for: If you are pleased with me, teach me your ways so I may know you and continue to find favor with you. The Lord replied to him: My presence will go with you and I will give you rest. Oh this is a beautiful promise.

This would give us strength to go through whatever comes our way, if the Lord is with us and gives us rest, which to me translates as peace.

Striving is the opposite of rest.

I remember during the beginning of my healing, I would strive to just be done with healing. I would spend hours a day with the Lord thinking that if I spend more time with him today then I would be healed quicker and be done with the process. I could not rest.

The greatest predictor of mental health is the ability to rest. If your mind can’t rest, the chances of becoming unstable are very good.

The Pearl in my long 7 year healing process is that I learned to rest after I wrestled with God and my hips were disjointed, I finally gave in.

Leave a Reply

